Saptapadi, also known as the Seven Vows, are taken along with Mangal pheras, which is encircling around the sacred fire being knotted to each other. Any marriage in Hinduism is incomplete without these vows. On the wedding day, the bride and the groom sit under the Mandap or the scared canopy for this ritual. The end of bride’s saree and the groom’s dhoti are tied in a sacred knot by the priest. They are then asked to stand up and take the seven ‘Pheras’ or circumambulations around the sacred fire, all the while uttering a different promise with each Phera.


The Seven Sacred Vows of marriage are described as follows:



 First Vow

 “om esha ekapadi bhava iti prathaman”

The Groom takes this vow first. It says: ‘You will provide food and be with me in every way. I will cherish you and give happiness for you and our children’.

“dhanam dhanyam pade vadet”

The Bride in return says: ‘I am responsible for the home and all household, food and finance responsibilities’.



 Second Vow

 “om oorje jara dastayaha”

The Groom says:  ‘We will protect our house and children together’.

“kutumburn rakshayishyammi sa aravindharam”

The Bride translates as ‘I will be by your side as your courage and strength. I will rejoice in your happiness. In return, you will love me solely’.


Third Vow

“om rayas santu joradastayaha”

 The Groom says: ‘May we grow wealthy and prosperous and strive for the education of our children and may our children live long.’

 “tava bhakti as vadedvachacha”

The Bride says: ‘I will love you solely for the rest of my life, as you are my husband. Every other man in my life will be secondary. I vow to remain chaste’.



Fourth Vow

 “om mayo bhavyas jaradastaya ha”

 The Groom says: ‘You have brought sacredness into my life, and have completed me. May we be blessed with noble and obedient children’

 “lalayami cha pade vadet”

 The Bride says: ‘I will shower you with joy, from head to toe. I will strive to please you in every way I can’.


Fifth Vow

“om prajabhyaha santu jaradastayaha”

The Groom says: ‘You are my best friend, and staunchest well-wisher. You have come into my life, enriching it. God bless you’.

“arte arba sapade vadet”

The Bride says: ‘I promise to love and cherish you for as long as I live. Your happiness is my happiness, and your sorrow is my sorrow. I will trust and honor you, and will strive to fulfill all your wishes’.



Sixth Vow

“Rutubhyah shat padi bhava”

The Groom says: ‘Now that you have taken six steps with me, you have filled my heart with immense happiness. Will you do the kindness of filling my heart with happiness like this for all times?’

 “yajna hom shashthe vacho vadet”

The Bride says: ‘I will always be by your side’.



 Seventh Vow

“Om sakhi jaradastayahga”

 The Groom says: ‘We are now husband and wife, and are one. You are mine and I am yours for eternity.’

 “Attramshe sakshino vadet pade”

The Bride says: ‘As God is witness, I am now your wife. We will love, honor and cherish each other forever.’

Written by Soumee Pal

Image Credits: Internet.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.